Actor’s Itch

It never fails. I can only go so long before I’m itching to get back on the stage.

Some shows you never want to end. Others you wish were over before opening night even comes. Sometimes, we can be so burnt out that we look forward to the end of a show so we can have a “normal life” again. Do mundane things like laundry on a week night. Ok, I’m kidding there…we’re more likely pining over the fact that we have so many shows on the DVR that we’ve run out of space (who watches shows live anymore???).

But what no matter how ready we are for a break, it’s only a matter of time before our feet itch to tread the boards again.

That itch turned nasty for me this weekend. Friday we went to see a friend in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, a production I had auditioned for myself, and Sunday I saw Mamma Mia at the Hanover with my mother- and sister-in-law. Sean’s currently in tech week for his show that opens this weekend and me? I’m filling my time, but with this infusion of performance energy I’m twitching in my seat. Luckily I’ll be auditioning on Monday for Hamlet. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

