Master Bedroom

We’ve been living in our house for over 2 years now. In those two years much has changed, including my becoming a professional photographer. Because of that, I see a lot of things differently, including the fact that our house is very 1) dark and 2) warm, especially our master bedroom.

When I started following other photographers’ blogs, Rebecca Westover posted personal pictures of her children on their bed. Their bed with white bedding. I instantly became obsessed with the idea of white textural bedding. With light, tan walls that will bounce the natural light that we do get in our bedroom.

My current problem? Our bedroom is as close to the opposite of that as you can get. We have red and gold shiny (yes, i instantly regretted that) bedding, and our wall color is called Cracker Bits. It’s a dark, muddy gold. There is also no overhead light in the bedroom. We have 3 little table lamps. Here are pictures of our original set up. The bedding has changed after the first comforter had an incident in the dryer. I won’t rat out Sean any further.

I’m ready for a change and I’m determined 2011 will bring that change. So I did what I wish I had done before we originally decorated everything. I made a moodboard on Olioboard.com. I’m warning you, it’s seriously addicting but so helpful in visualizing a room before you go on a spending spree certain to end in buyer’s remorse.

But anyways, here she is:

Master bedroom 3

So I’ll be tackling this project bit by bit as time and budget allows. There’s one big surprise element to this plan, but if I told you, it wouldn’t be a surprise now would it?

Do you have any home reno projects planned for 2011?

Leave a Reply

