From a Sugar Deprived Mind

I haven’t had a sweet in over 36 hours.

The last 36 hours have been pure torture.

Think there’s a correlation?

So here’s what’s going on. On Tuesday, I realized that it was Fat Tuesday, and that Lent was starting the next day. I love the idea of a challenge, and tend to be all or nothing when it comes to them. Now, I’m not Catholic, but the idea of a finish line appeals to me, and Lent gave me a 40 day race.

And on Tuesday, my pants felt tight.

So I decided to give up sweets/sugar. I told Sean my idea, and he said “You don’t need Lent, just go on a diet.” See, I don’t do diets, but I can manage anything for 40 days, right? No sweat!

Wednesday morning someone brought in chewy chocolate chip cookies and put them in the kitchen.

My office is right next to the kitchen.

I was blissfully unaware of these chocolaty treats until someone asked me who brought them in. “Brought what in?” I asked innocently, unaware that my whole day was about to become the climb to Mount Everest. “These delicious chocolate chip cookies.” Crap.

Combine that with the string of people who visit the candy bowl that, oh yeah, is at my desk now, yesterday was the longest day EVER!!! I swear I was hungrier yesterday than I ever was before.

Which is probably because before I would pop a mini Snickers in my mouth because I was bored.

Which is probably why my pants felt tight on Tuesday.

Which is why I’ve put myself in this hell.

38 1/2 days left….

3 responses

  1. It’s going to really suck for about the first week, and then it should get better. That’s what happened to me when I decided to get off of Monsters. The only difference was that I wasn’t giving them up entirely. But it should get better after the first week, and you should want sweets and candy less after that. 🙂

    I wish you the best of luck!

  2. I share your pain. I gave up coffee so I had a headache and wanted to kick puppies and punch unicorns all day yesterday.

    Still have a slight headache, but I guess tomorrow I will be back to regular Grumpy instead of angry grumpy.

    Good luck with the sugar fast

    The Grumpy Man

  3. I’m not Catholic either but I like a challenge. I gave up cheese. How you feel about sweets pretty much sums up my love affair with cheese. I hope my pants will be happy about this too.

Leave a Reply

