Starting Line

I can’t believe I’m doing this…I’m breaking almost every girl code out there.

Deep breath…

I am 159.5 lbs.

I am one month postpartum, and I have lost 30 lbs since birthing Natalie (gotta love breastfeeding), which is seriously no joke. I’m thrilled, really. And I’m about 5 lbs from my prepregnancy weight.

But I’m better than that. At 5′ 4″ I want to slim down more, preferably to a healthy 130. So it’s time to get serious.

The “Finish Line”: 130 lbs, that’s 30 pounds to go.

The Players: one 26-year-old new mom

The Challenges: Well, there’s the small life form that is solely dependent on me to live. I need to find modes of exercise that either incorporate her, or that I can fit in between feedings. Then there’s the on again, off again relationship that I have with wagons. I need to find a way to stay motivated.

The Plan:

Diet – I must be mindful of what I’m putting in my body. I have to keep my calories up because I’m breastfeeding, but I’m no longer able to snack snack snack on whatever I’m craving like I have in the past. So I’m choosing cleaner options, and steering away from processed foods. Following the Eat Clean Diet principles, I’ll be having smaller meals throughout the day that combine complex carbs with protein.

Exercise – I’m only 4 weeks post partum, so I haven’t received the “all clear” for regular physical activity. But I can do light activity. One things I’ve already started is Mommy and Me yoga. I bring Natalie, and I can incorporate her into the moves if I like. It’s amazing, and it not only gets me moving and stretching (who knew you get so tight carrying a baby around?) but it gives me the chance to socialize with other moms and get out of the house. I’m also taking walks when the weather allows.

Once I’m given the all clear, I’ll be heading back to my gym. I’m lucky where my gym has a child care room, so I can bring Natalie with me, and leave her in the next room while I take a class (so psyched for Zumba!) or start on the treadmill again. And when the spring hits, I’ll be starting to run again, using the Couch to 5k program. Running with the stroller will only help me train.

Motivation – I’ll be updating here each month for accountability. I’ve got a reward tool that I’ll be showing off in another post. Once I start the running program, I’ll be signing up for a 5k to give myself something to work toward. I want to take part in the Greenway Challenge again this year, which gives me 9 months to train (any new moms want to hook up and create a team?). But most importantly, I want to raise Natalie in a healthy, active home so she can start her life off positively.

WARNING: Before pictures below…do not continue if you have a weak tummy! 😉

Date: 1/19/2012         Weight: 159.5

3 responses

  1. You already look great. I hope you realize that. Good luck with the plan! You will do amazing! Do not put yourself down too much in the process!

  2. You are truly amazing! I have a little problem gaining weight and keeping it, so I am on the other side of the road. I wish we had a childcare room in our gym and excerise classes where you can bring the baby don’t exist around here either.
    I am a teeny bit jealous, cause I love exercising, but if I can’t bring my baby and have no one who looks after him exercise won’t happen for me.
    Wishing you the best of luck in your endavour. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

