Little Split Level on the Urban Prairie

I’m submitting this as part of The Prairie Homestead’s Monday Barn Hop.

Anyone else think of Gnomeo and Juliet?

I feel like the gnome in this picture, with Monday’s little gremlins carrying off my stiff, lifeless body. Her Royal Highness has been testing me today, swinging between happy and miserable within seconds. My hope is she’s just overtired and stimulated from having visitors the last 4 days.

I’ll recap this weekend later on this week, but today I’m writing about a new obsession I have.

Homesteading.

Yes, you heard me right. Homesteading. Like, goats and cows and chickens and bees and veggies and other crunchy granola-type things. And yes, I’m well aware that I live in the city of Worcester, on a main road, with my neighbors’ homes just a little too close for comfort. And the only thing I’ve successfully grown is weeds.

But there is such thing as Urban Homesteading, and I’ve been reading up on it. And the top title in the picture below pretty much sums up my approach.

homesteading books

It started with a brand new e-book called Your Custom Homestead by Jill Winger, the gorgeous author of The Prairie Homestead. It helps you discover what aspects of homesteading you want to incorporate, and it’s broken up into 21 days, with brief and easy assignments each day.

Sean and I did hit up the Flower and Patio Show yesterday, which was, for the most part, a complete disappointment. Not worth the $10 entry fee. But we did catch a very neat presentation on cooking with herbs, where I learned about infusing vinegar, creating dressings, and making herb butter. Do I sense Christmas presents this year?

The horticulturist who presented was selling a seed propagation kit for $25. It included seeds, soil, trays and the vented mini greenhouse to house them. And directions…very important.

cat guards greenhouse

Not to mention it’ll keep my little seedlings safe from our rogue chewers.

So next, I have to plan my garden. What I’ll grow when, building the raised beds, and composting!

3 responses

  1. I’m right there with you! I live in a large city on a small city lot (although it is a corner lot). I’ve managed to grow more than weeds, but only just. I love the Custom Homestead ebook and have even set up my binder with all my want-to categories. Keep going! Even us city-folk can do this.

  2. I just read Your Custom Homestead and loved it. Lots to work on, even in the city. We went to a Home and Garden Show recently and I wasn’t expecting much, but was happy to find a class on composting and a group that educates and encourages people to use native plants in their landscaping and gardening. I’ll be putting both contacts to good use.

  3. I’m going to buy Jill’s book this week. I’m really excited to read it. How do you like it so far? I found your blog via the Homestead Barn Hop this week 🙂 🙂 OH, that kitty in your last photo is ADORABLE!!! Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

Leave a Reply

