I’m Going to Make an Arse Out of Myself

Next week I meet 2, not just 1, but 2 of my photography inspirations.

Like, celebrities.

In the blogging and photography worlds at least.

It’s too much pressure. I can’t do it. I’m going to make an arse out of myself.

On Monday, I’ll be attending Jasmine Star’s The Fix. I love this girl. I’ve met her once before, and she’s a sweetheart. She believes in sharing her story and teaching in the photography community. She also revels in her imperfections, and truly lives the marketing idea that you are your brand.

(image from jasminestarblog.com)

The crazy thing is that I’m kinda sorta leading a photo walk beforehand. I’m not sure how it happened. Someone brought up the idea in a Facebook group we created, and then I picked it back up, arranged times, locations, and created an event. So unlike me, but I like it.

Note to self, take the initiative more often.

I’ll have some lovely shots and lots of new photographer friends to share next week. We’ll be shooting at the Boston Public Library which is crazy beautiful.

Then, on Thursday, I’ll be attending my very first book signing. I’m geeking out. Who will I be seeing?

The Pioneer Woman: Ree Drummond

(image from southernliving.com)

One Ree Drummond, otherwise known as The Pioneer Woman.

Even though she’s become known for her cooking (excuse my drool), it was her photography tutorials that first inspired me to take my skills beyond point and shoot. But she also has a very diverse blog, where she writes about whatever she wants and succeeds marvelously. I crack up at her posts regularly. Oh, and she’s on the TV.

She’ll be in Boston promoting her newly published second cookbook.

I feel my thighs growing just thinking about it.

And little does Ree know, but we’ll be best friends after Thursday night. Because I have a plan. A tricky plan, which is the best kind of plan.

What’s the plan?

I’m bringing her.

(image from me)

As you can see, she has her game face on.

See, Ree’s a mom of four, and she loves babies. And Natalie is squishy and smiley and will be a few days shy of 3 months old, which is totally an appropriate age to exploit for an invitation to the Drummond Ranch to ride horses, take photos, cuddle with Charlie, and enjoy the amazing cooking of my new BFF.

Right?

Well, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Unless I’m on a plane heading to Oklahoma, in which case, well, you’ll know.

But now I need to ponder the important questions of life.

What the heck am I going to wear????

One response

Leave a Reply

