Leaving on a Jetplane

Another first is coming up for Natalie. On Saturday, she will be taking her first plane ride.

This is my beautiful friend, Diana.

We met during our sophomore year of college and before the year was out I was engaged to Sean and she agreed to be one of my bridesmaids. I guess that’s what happens when you bond over Gilmore Girls and Ben and Jerry’s every Tuesday night. I don’t remember how exactly it started, but we call each other double mint twins.

We must have been prophetic, because Ms. D and her husband are expecting twins! Twin boys to be more specific. So Natalie and I fly out bright and early Saturday to go to her baby shower. It’s strange to think that my own shower was almost a year ago. I’m staring at the little person sitting on the floor next to me, babbling merrily into a yellow triangular block and it makes me so excited for Diana that she’ll have double the pleasure and double the fun very very soon.

But in order to get to my double mint twin’s home in Maryland, Natalie and I must make it through a plane ride. I’m probably way over thinking and over planning, but the way I see it, I’d rather not need what I’ve planned than be caught off guard. Luckily, the flight will only be about an hour and a half.

We will be travelling Jet Blue, an airline I have zero experience with, but have heard good things about, especially when it comes to family travel. The price was right, and their website was very parent friendly. They have a page devoted to travel with kids.

As a lap infant, Natalie is allowed a diaper bag, a car seat, and a stroller. However, since I am travelling alone with her, I will be applying a “less is more” approach. I’ve also purchased the Even More Space option which gives us a seat right in the front with more leg space (read, Natalie can stand to get out some fidgets), and allows for early boarding (earlier than the typical family boarding) so I’m settled with her rather than jostling with the rest of those on board.

My Game Plan:

  • Pack Natalie and my clothes along with the twins’ gifts into a carry-on roller bag
  • Pack diapers, snacks, and toys into Natalie’s diaper bag
  • Check Natalie’s car seat (courtesy for a lap infant) and pack and play (my free checked bag allowance)
  • Use the Moby wrap to wear Natalie – I don’t know if they’ll make me unwrap through security, but I’ll find out I guess (anyone have experience with this at Logan?)
  • Nurse or sippy cup through take off and landing

I’ll follow up after our trip with what worked, what didn’t, and what I’ll do differently next time. In the meantime, have you flown with an infant before? Do you have any tips or tricks?

Leave a Reply

